LLSC crowns its new Club Champions

3 days before the start of Lockdown 2, Leigh & Lowton were able to conclude their 2020 Trophy Days and anoint their Club Champions (virtually of course!).  The Trophy Days had first been postponed due to Lockdown 1 and then the format changed to 4 weekends in September and October, 2 races with no discards for each one, with 5 races to count towards the Club Champion trophy. 

It proved to be a lively series with a nail-biting final weekend for the Club Champion decider.  With 4 different winners of the individual Trophy Days in various classes and the eventual Club Champions not winning an individual event it was a hard-fought series, with consistency through the series being the key.

Richard Catchpole & Gary Coop (RS400) won a breezy first encounter for the Rosebowl Trophy, in a tie-break with Louise McKeand & Nigel Hall (Wayfarer).   Next up was the Taylor Trophy where an RS400 once again took the honours, this time with Dave and Caroline Exley in pole position and Louise and Nigel in hot pursuit.  The Henderson Trophy was held in extremely light conditions and this time to single-handers dominated – Steve Blackburn (Streaker) and Martin Spencer (Devoti D-one).  The final day in a shifty gusty Southerly was clinched by Matt Sharman (Solo) against Steve once again, on countback.

Overall in the series, Louise McKeand and Nigel Hall came out on top in their Wayfarer after winning the last race of the series, counting all top 2 positions in the end to become Club Champions for the first time.  Steve Blackburn was a close second in his Streaker two points behind, while Martin Spencer’s consistency over the series gave him 3rd spot.  Solo Club Champion was Malcolm Waddington and Junior Club Champion was Ben Welfare (Optimist).  

What a great end to a crazy year on and off the water!  We will be back on the water for our winter series as soon as regulations allow – still no showers and changing facilities I’m sure, so keep your dry-suit handy!

All photos by Gerard van den Hoek

Club Champion:

1st Louise McKeand and Nigel Hall (Wayfarer)

2nd Steve Blackburn (Streaker)

3rd Martin Spencer (D-one)

Solo Champion:

1st Malcolm Waddington

Junior Champion:

1st Ben Welfare

Full results:


Yachts and yachting: